Board of Directors


The Board of Directors

Members of the SCA Board of Directors serve three-and-a-half year terms. Candidates for the Board are nominated by SCA participants, and nominees remain on the list for two years. The list of nominees is published for member commentary in Tournaments Illuminated and the Kingdom newsletters. These comments are used by the current directors to aid in selecting new directors.

The Board meets four times a year. The location of Board meetings rotates among the Kingdoms so that members have an opportunity to attend. The exact location is determined based on many factors, including cost and easy air accessibility. Local groups are encouraged to host an evening revel if a Board meeting is held in their area. For more information contact your Ombudsman.

Minutes of meetings are available by subscription from the Member Services Office.

Comments on any proposal before the Board should be sent to Correspondence concerning a particular Corporate function, office, or kingdom can be sent to the director responsible for that area (see each director's ombudsman listing). To write to the directors as a group, you can send e-mail to

Mail for members of the Board may also be addressed to the Corporate Office:

The Society for Creative Anachronism, Inc.
P.O. Box 360789
Milpitas, CA 95036-0789

Committees of the Board

The Grand Council

A standing advisory committee, charged with providing ideas and proposals on changes to the modern functioning of the SCA.

Committee Chair: Kelly Magill (Lady Heather Shea, The Questrix) - 705-476-9257, e-mail

Grants Committee

Committee Chair: Karl Hamner (TH Lord Sven Egilsson); e-mail

SCA Census

In 2010, over 17,500 SCA participants took part in an internet survey created to help the Board identify, address and work on current issues, and to gain a deeper understanding into what makes the SCA what it is today.

Committee Chairs: Paul Haines (TH Lord Alden Drake) and Daniel Fenwick (Sir Daniel de Blare) - e-mail

Additional Peerage Exploration Committee (APEC)

Committee Chair: Jay Rudin (Don Robin of Gilwell) - e-mail

top of page